A Companion to Shakespeare's Works: Poems, Problem Comedies, Late Plays v. 4 (Innbundet)

Serie: Blackwell Companions to Literature and Culture 

Legg i ønskeliste

Innbinding: Innbundet
Utgivelsesår: 2003
Antall sider: 496
Forlag: John Wiley and Sons Ltd
Språk: Engelsk
Serie: Blackwell Companions to Literature and Culture
ISBN/EAN: 9780631226352
Omtale A Companion to Shakespeare's Works: Poems, Problem Comedies, Late Plays v. 4
This four-volume "Companion to Shakespeare's Works", compiled as a single entity, offers a uniquely comprehensive snapshot of current Shakespeare criticism. Complementing David Scott Kastan's "A Companion to Shakespeare" (1999), which focused on Shakespeare as an author in his historical context, these volumes examine each of his plays and major poems using all the resources of contemporary criticism from performance studies to feminist, historicist, and textual analyses. Scholars from all over the world - Australia, Canada, France, New Zealand, the United Kingdom and United States - have joined in the writing of new essays addressing virtually the whole of Shakespeare's canon from a rich variety of critical perspectives.A mixture of younger and more established scholars, their work reflects some of the most interesting research currently being conducted in Shakespeare studies. Arguing for the persistence and utility of genre as a rubric for teaching and writing about Shakespeare's works, the editors have organized the four volumes in relation to generic categories: namely, the tragedies, the histories, the comedies, and the poems, problem comedies and late plays.Each volume thus contains individual essays on all texts in the relevant category, as well as more general essays looking at critical issues and approaches more widely relevant to the genre.
This ambitious project offers a provocative roadmap to Shakespeare studies at the dawning of the twentieth-first century. This companion to Shakespeare's poems, problem comedies and late plays contains original essays on "Troilus and Cressida", "Measure for Measure", "All's Well That Ends Well", "Venus and Adonis", "The Rape of Lucrece", and "The Sonnets", as well as "Pericles", "The Winter's Tale", "Cymbeline", "The Tempest", "Henry VIII" and "The Two Noble Kinsmen". In addition, it includes eleven essays on such topics as the reception history of the sonnets, collaboration in Shakespeare's middle and late plays, the generic classification of Shakespeare's late plays, "The Tempest" in performance, and the relation of Shakespeare's "problem plays" to the work of contemporary dramatists.

Til toppen

Bøker i serien