Allegro Postillions (Heftet)


Legg i ønskeliste

Innbinding: Heftet
Utgivelsesår: 2009
Antall sider: 124
Forlag: Faber & Faber
Språk: Engelsk
ISBN/EAN: 9780571249114
Omtale Allegro Postillions
Massacre and revolution in the mountains of Calabria, passion and betrayal in a Venetian opera house, a web of baffled desire spun during a summer in Verona, a world where exile kills more swiftly than death itself, where innocence becomes a lethal weapon, where lies are saving graces - this is the brittle, bizarre and menacing background to "Allegro Postillions". Jonathan Keates' prize-winning collection gathers together four stories of haunting and magnetic brilliance set in 19th-century Italy, a war-torn, emerging nation of secrets and enigmas, of sudden violence and muted anguish, a land where the sought-after beauties of art clash with the unavoidable truth of life as it is lived. 'Keates' florid tales of revolution and love, passion and exile, innocence and death create a highly charged exciting, adventurous book' - "Sunday Times". 'A dream object...pre-eminently, wonderfully solid and [it] has the aura of palpable accomplishment...a virtuoso performance' - "Literary Review". 'Morn Advancing...alone justifies this book, and leaves an imprint on the memory like a Breughel landscape' - "Times Literary Supplement".
'Clever and extremely stylish' - "Daily Telegraph".

Til toppen