Composers of the Nazi Era (Innbundet)

Eight Portraits


Legg i ønskeliste

Innbinding: Innbundet
Utgivelsesår: 1999
Antall sider: 414
Forlag: Oxford University Press Inc
Språk: Engelsk
ISBN/EAN: 9780195099249
Omtale Composers of the Nazi Era
How does creativity thrive in the face of fascism? How can a highly artistic individual function professionally in so threatening a climate? The final book in a critically acclaimed trilogy that includes Different Drummers (OUP 1992) and The Twisted Muse (OUP 1997), this is a detailed study of the often interrelated careers of eight outstanding German composers who lived and worked amid the dictatorship of the Third Reich: Werner Egk, Paul Hindemith, Kurt Weill, Karl Amadeus Hartmann, Carl Orff, Hans Pfitzner, Arnold Schoenberg, and Richard Strauss. Noted historian Michael H. Kater weighs issues of accommodation and resistance to ask whether these artists corrupted themselves in the service of a criminal regime-and if so, whether this is evident in their music. He also considers the degrees to which the Nazis politically, socially, economically, and aesthetically succeeded in their treatment of these individuals, whose lives and compositions represent diverse responses to totalitarianism.

Til toppen

Flere bøker av Michael H. Kater: