Hope Nicely's Lessons for Life (Innbundet)

'An absolute joy' - Sarah Haywood

Forfatter:

Forfatter:
Innbinding: Innbundet
Utgivelsesår: 2021
Antall sider: 464
Forlag: Bonnier Zaffre
Språk: Engelsk
ISBN/EAN: 9781838772710
Omtale Hope Nicely's Lessons for Life
'A touching, tender story filled with wonderful humour. An absolute joy' Sarah Haywood

'A very special book, really enjoyable' Katie Fforde

The Sunday Times bestselling novel, perfect for fans of Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine and The Rosie Project.

Winner of the Joan Hessayon Award for New Writers.

I don't have any friends, only dog ones, because they don't make you do bad things. I don't want any human friends, actually. It's for the best.'

Hope Nicely hasn't had an easy life.

But she's happy enough living at 23 Station Close with her mum, Jenny Nicely, and she loves her job, walking other people's dogs. She's a bit different, but as Jenny always tells her, she's a rainbow person, a special drop of light.

It's just . . . there's something she needs to know. Why did her birth mother abandon her in a cardboard box on a church step twenty-five years ago? And did she know that drinking while pregnant could lead to Hope being born with Foetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder?

In a bid to find her birth mother and the answers to these questions, Hope decides to write her autobiography. Despite having been bullied throughout school, Hope bravely joins an evening class where Hope will not only learn the lessons of writing, but will also begin to discover more about the world around her, about herself and even make some (human) friends.

But when Jenny suddenly falls ill, Hope realises there are many more lessons to come . . .

Hope Nicely's Lessons for Life is a heartwarming, coming-of-age novel about loneliness, friendship, acceptance and, above all, hope.

'A gorgeous, funny, heartwarming read. Leaves you smiling' Ericka Walker, author of Dog Days

Til toppen