Hydrocarbon Chemistry (Innbundet)



Legg i ønskeliste

Forfatter: og
Innbinding: Innbundet
Utgivelsesår: 2003
Antall sider: 872
Forlag: John Wiley & Sons Inc
Språk: Engelsk
ISBN/EAN: 9780471417828
Omtale Hydrocarbon Chemistry
Hydrocarbons and their transformations play major roles in chemistry as raw materials and sources of energy. Diminishing petroleum supplies, regulatory problems, and environmental concerns constantly challenge chemists to rethink and redesign the industrial applications of hydrocarbons. Written by Nobel Prize-winner George Olah and hydrocarbon expert Arpad Molnar, the completely revised and expanded Second Edition of Hydrocarbon Chemistry provides an unparalleled contemporary assessment of the field, presenting basic concepts, current research, and future applications. Hydrocarbon Chemistry begins by discussing the general aspects of hydrocarbons, the separation of hydrocarbons from natural sources, and the synthesis from C1 precursors with recent developments for possible future applications. Each successive chapter deals with a specific type of hydrocarbon transformation. The Second Edition includes a new section on the chemical reduction of carbon dioxide-focusing on catalytic, ionic, electrocatalytic, photocatalytic, and ezymatic reductions-as well as a new chapter on new catalysts and activation methods, combinatorial chemistry, and environmental chemistry.
Other topics covered include:* Major processes of the petrochemical industry, such as cracking, reforming, isomerization, and alkylation * Derivation reactions to form carbon-heteroatom bonds * Hydrocarbon oxidations * Metathesis * Oligomerization and polymerization of hydrocarbons All chapters have been updated by adding sections on recent developments to review new advances and results. Essential reading for practicing scientists in industry, polymer and catalytic chemists, as well as researchers and graduate students, Hydrocarbon Chemistry, Second Edition remains the benchmark text in its field.

Til toppen

Flere bøker av George A. Olah og Arpad Molnar: