Quarantine Life from Cholera to COVID-19 (Innbundet)

What Pandemics Teach Us About Parenting, Work, Life, and Communities from the 1700s to Today

Forfatter:

Forfatter:
Innbinding: Innbundet
Utgivelsesår: 2021
Antall sider: 304
Forlag: Simon & Schuster
Språk: Engelsk
ISBN/EAN: 9781982172466
Omtale Quarantine Life from Cholera to COVID-19
For readers of Mary Roach and Adam Diamond, an innovative look at the histories of different epidemics and what it meant for society, alongside what lessons different diseases have to teach us as society battles the novel Coronavirus.

Throughout history, there have been numerous epidemics that have threatened mankind with destruction. Diseases have the ability to highlight our shared concerns across the ages, affecting every social divide from national boundaries, economic categories, racial divisions, and beyond. Whether looking at smallpox, HIV, Ebola, or COVID-19 outbreaks, we see the same conversations arising as society struggles with the all-encompassing question: What do we do now?

Quarantine Life from Cholera to COVID-19 demonstrates that these conversations have always involved the same questions of individual liberties versus the common good, debates about rushing new and untested treatments, considerations of whether quarantines are effective to begin with, what to do about healthy carriers, and how to keep trade circulating when society shuts down.

This immensely readable social and medical history tracks different diseases and outlines their trajectory, what they meant for society, and societal questions each disease brought up, along with practical takeaways we can apply to current and future pandemics-so we can all be better prepared for whatever life throws our way.

Til toppen

Flere bøker av Kari Nixon:

  • Kept from All Contagion

    Germ Theory, Disease, and the Dilemma of Human Contact in Late Nineteenth-Century Literature

    SUNY series, Studies in the Long Nineteenth Century /

    Innbundet