The St. Francis Holy Fool Prayer Book (Heftet)

Forfatter:

Forfatter:
Innbinding: Heftet
Utgivelsesår: 2017
Antall sider: 160
Forlag: Paraclete Press
Språk: Engelsk
ISBN/EAN: 9781612618302
Omtale The St. Francis Holy Fool Prayer Book
In the tradition of The St. Francis Prayer Book, Jon Sweeney offers an ancient-medieval way of understanding and experiencing the Gospel: the Holy Fool. This countercultural approach is exemplified in the life and teachings of Francis of Assisi, the most popular Saint in history, and his good friend, Brother Juniper.

What does it mean to be a fool for Christ? It meant to St. Francis: being small not strong, valuing joy over pleasure, avoiding positions of power, and enjoying rather than avoiding moments of insecurity, fear, and awkwardness. These practices revealed to the first Franciscans how being foolish in the eyes of the world is a sure way to discover a renewed sense of the presence of God.

Includes a week of daily offices focused on the concept of the Holy Fool and spiritual practices for countercultural living.

Til toppen

Flere bøker av Jon M. Sweeney: