The Three Voyages of Captain James Cook round the World 7 Volume Set (Blandet mediaprodukt)

Serie: Cambridge Library Collection - Maritime Exploration 


, , , og

Forfatter: , , , og
Innbinding: Blandet mediaprodukt
Utgivelsesår: 2015
Antall sider: 3030
Forlag: Cambridge University Press
Språk: Engelsk
ISBN/EAN: 9781108084826
Kategori: Naturvitenskap
Omtale The Three Voyages of Captain James Cook round the World 7 Volume Set
During Charles Darwin's 1831-6 voyage on the Beagle, his on-board library included 'Cook's voyages'. This illustrated 1821 edition, in seven volumes, is representative of the versions available in the early nineteenth century. Volumes 1-2 cover the first Pacific voyage of James Cook (1728-79), to observe the 1769 transit of Venus from Tahiti. The text follows Hawkesworth's 1773 edition, which combined Cook's journal with ethnographical notes by the ship's scientist, Sir Joseph Banks (1743-1820). Volumes 3-4 describe Cook's second voyage, and focus on New Zealand, the Pacific islands, and the Southern Ocean. On this voyage, the ship's naturalists were John Reinhold Forster and his son George (1754-94), who is credited as co-author. Volumes 5-6 are Cook's account of his third and final voyage, while Volume 7, by James King (1750-84), describes the death of Cook, the explorers' stay in Hawaii, and their return.

Til toppen

Flere bøker av James Cook, Joseph Banks, John Hawkesworth, George Forster og James King:

Bøker i serien